Workflows can be created to assign tasks to your users as part of the onboarding process. This article outlines how these can be created and managed through the onboarding module in the administration menu.
Creating a new Workflow
1. Navigate to Administration > Onboarding > Onboarding Workflows.
2. Click Create Workflow.
3. Fill out each of the fields to configure your workflow.
Title: The title of your workflow.
Description: A description of the workflow and its purpose.
Availability: Affects who can assign this workflow to users.
Workflow Type: Select an appropriate workflow type that you have created through the workflow type feature. For more information on this, please see the article Creating and Managing Workflow types.
đ | Availability None: Will not appear for any user in assignment dropdowns. All users: Will appear for all users able to assign a workflow. All Managers: Only users with a Manager role can assign the workflow. Specific Users: Users that you nominate can assign this workflow. Static Group: Only users with in the selected Standard Group can assign the workflow. Dynamic groups cannot currently be selected. |
4. Click Save.
Editing a Workflow
1. Navigate to Administration > Onboarding > Onboarding Workflows.
2. Search for the workflow you wish to edit.
3. Click Edit on the far right or select Edit Workflow from the dropdown.
4. Make your required changes to the workflow settings and then click Save Changes.
â ď¸ | If you are adding brand new steps to an active workflow, users currently in progress won't see the new tasks immediately. Instead, the tasks will appear only as their workflow progresses. Because these delayed assignments can confuse users, it is generally recommended to avoid modifying active workflows in this way. |
Copy a Workflow
1. Navigate to Administration > Onboarding > Onboarding Workflows.
2. Search for the workflow you wish to edit.
3. Select Copy Workflow from the dropdown next to Edit.
4. This will open a Settings window to make changes to the copied courses Title and other fields.
5. Click Save Changes
Creating a Workflow Graph
After creating and saving your workflow a Workflow graph tab will appear.
1. Click on the Workflow graph tab.
2. Remove the connecting line between the Start and Finish nodes by CTRL + Left Clicking on it.
3. Click on the Workflow Steps dropdown to expand it.
4. Select an Activity and Click and Drag this onto the workflow graph are. Let go of your mouse button to drop this where you would like within the graph area.
5. Click Actions on the Activity step and select Edit.
đ | For information on how to configure different Activity Steps please see the article Configuring Workflow Activities |
6. To connect an activity into your graph click and drag the end arrow on the Start node to the beginning arrow on the Activity. Repeat this to connect the Activity to the Finish node.
7. Click on Workflow Controls to expand the menu.
8. Select Validate Workflow.
â ď¸ | If there are any missing Activity configurations that are required or a node is not properly connect then an Error will occur. Click Dismiss to close the pop up and make the necessary changes for the steps highlighted in the graph. |
9. Click Save Workflow once all changes are finalized and the workflow has been successfully validated.
Editing a Workflow Graph
1. Navigate to Administration > Onboarding > Onboarding Workflows.
2. Search for the workflow.
3. Select Edit Workflow Graph from the dropdown next to Edit.
4. To edit an Activity click on Actions at the bottom of the step and select Edit. To delete an Activity select Remove.
5 Click Validate Workflow once all changes are made and any steps are reconnected.
6. Click Save Workflow.
