Skip to main content

Roll Back or Reopen an Appraisal

M
Written by Michael Ho

Performance administrators have the capability to roll back an appraisal, providing employees, managers, or approvers with the opportunity to revisit and amend the appraisal process.

When individuals wish to update an appraisal but face restrictions within the current phase, such as the inability to add, edit, or delete section items, or provide ratings in rating-enabled sections, admins can utilise this function to facilitate necessary modifications.

How to Roll Back an Appraisal?

To roll back an appraisal phase:

  1. Navigate to Administration > Performance > Appraisal Setup
    ​

  2. Click Assigned List

  3. Locate the employee's appraisal > Click View
    ​

  4. Click the drop-down icon > Select Rollback appraisal
    ​

  5. Select from the Phase dropdown in the pop-up and then click Proceed
    ​

📝

Rolling back an appraisal will trigger the 'Roll Back Performance Phase' notification (if added and enabled via the Appraisal Notifications tab).

Admins can roll back an appraisal to a Scoring or Manager Scoring Phase, enabling employees or managers to re-complete their ratings or Summary comments. Their previous ratings or comment will be displayed after the appraisal is rolled back and can be edited.

⚠️

Summary comments can only be edited if the appraisal is rolled back to the phase where the comment was initially entered. As an example, if an employee wishes to edit a comment made during the Self Scoring phase, the appraisal must be rolled back to the Self Scoring phase for comment revision.

Moving an Appraisal to the Next Phase After Rolling Back to an Action Phase

If you have rolled back the appraisal to an Action phase, or before an Action phase, you may find that there are no buttons to progress to the next phase at the Action phase.

This can indicate that the appraisal 'Action Phase' is set to finalise automatically so this phase cannot be finalised manually and there will be no other buttons to manually progress the appraisal.

You can consider the following options:

  • Automatic Finalisation Overnight: If the Action phase End Date has passed, the system will automatically finalise this phase overnight so the employee's appraisal should reach the next phase (e.g. Self Scoring Phase) tomorrow.

  • Manual Finalisation Setting: You can change the 'Phase Finalisation' setting to allow the appraisal to be finalised manually and sync the changes. Once updated and synced, the appraisal manager will then have the option to manually approve the Action phase to allow the appraisal to progress.
    ​

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Can I roll back appraisals in bulk?

The system does not support bulk rollback of appraisals due to the complexity and individualized nature of appraisal data. Unfortunately, rolling back appraisals in bulk is currently not supported.

Can a Checkpoint be rolled back?

Checkpoints cannot be rolled back as they are not reliant on phases and are dependent on their specified start dates within the appraisal. They can only be started after the checkpoint start date and can be completed any time after the start date, provided the appraisal is still open.

How can I reopen a Checkpoint section (e.g. Quarterly 1:1)?

If the appraisal is already complete, it will need to be rolled back to any earlier phase for the checkpoint to be completed again.

If the manager has already approved the checkpoint and the appraisal is already completed, the appraisal will need to be rolled back and the manager will have a 'Reopen' checkpoint button to reopen the checkpoint.

The employee/manager is not required to complete their ratings, how can I skip the Scoring phase if it is required?

A company admin will need to mark the appraisal as complete before rolling back the appraisal to the relevant phase.

Can I roll back/delete a comment in the Summary section?

Summary comments cannot be deleted but can be edited once the appraisal is in the same phase where the comment was entered in. Comments can only be edited if the appraisal is rolled back or moved forward to the phase where the comment was initially entered.
As an example, if the comment was made during the "Self Scoring phase" the appraisal can rolled back or moved forwrd to the Self Scoring phase. This will allow the employee to edit the comment and replace it with 'N/A' or '-' to remove the original content.

Did this answer your question?