This article outlines the recompletion methods that can be used in forms, how they function and examples of when to use them.
There are 3 types of recompletion methods that can be selected for a form:
Open for recompletion
Create new assignment
Disallow recompletion
This article contains the following Topics
Navigate to a form
1. Navigate to the form under Documents > My Forms.
You can also access forms by navigating to Profile > Activity and searching under the appropriate Document Category.
2. Click on the form to Open it.
Open a Form for recompletion
This allows a user to re-complete a form by overwriting the data in the original form. Use this setting when a form must be regularly re-completed, but a history of the completed forms is not needed.
❗ | Once form data is overwritten it is not recoverable |
To open a form for recompletion:
1. Click Open for recompletion at the bottom of the form.
2. Confirm by selecting Reopen the form.
❗ | You cannot reverse this action. Once a form is re-opened it must be recompleted. |
3. Recomplete the form and click Save and Submit.
Create a new assignment of a form
This setting assigns the form again, rather than overwriting the data in the existing form. Use this setting when a form must be re-completed, and you wish to keep a history of each completed form. You might consider using this for forms that capture certifications or other documentation that you need to retain records of.
To create a new assignment of a form:
1. Click Create new assignment.
⚠️ | Only the most recent created form will show the option to Create a new assignment. This recompletion method is not compatible with the Unique assignment feature. When attempting to save a form with both features enabled the below error will occur. |
2. Confirm Create new assignment.
3. The new copy of the form will open with no data. All fields must be re completed.
4. Once the form is completed Click Save and Submit.
5. You will now have a record of the previous completion and the new completion of this form in your documents section.
Disallow recompletion of a form
This setting gives no option to re-complete the form. Use this setting for forms that do not require recompletion. When this recompletion method is selected there will be no option to re-open a form at the bottom of the page.
FAQ Section
Can I change the recompletion method on an Existing forms
You can change the recompletion method of a form. Navigate to the form settings and select the new recompletion method then click save. There is no need to republish the form when this feature is changed. Users that go to recomplete their form will see this change reflected.
What is the difference between the “Unique assignment” feature and the “Disallow recompletion” method?
The purpose of Unique assignment is to ensure that a form can only ever be assigned and completed once per user.
The purpose of Disallow recompletion is to ensure that a completed form cannot be edited or overwritten, however it can still be assigned to, and completed by, the same user more than once.
Example 1:
If Unique assignment is DISABLED
And Disallow recompletion is ENABLED
Then after User A completes the form, they are unable to overwrite or edit that form’s data.
If the form is re-assigned manually to User A, they can complete the new assignment of the form.
Example 2:
If Unique assignment is ENABLED
And Disallow recompletion is ENABLED
Then after User A completes the form, they are unable to overwrite or edit that form’s data.
And the form cannot be manually re-assigned to User A again.
