Skip to main content

Changing the owner of a Requisition?

M
Written by Michael Ho

This article describes the process of changing the owner for current and future requisitions. A requisition owner has the ability to complete the key tasks associated with managing a requisition, such as managing the candidate shortlist, scheduling interviews or making offers to candidates.

There are several reasons why you might want to change the owner of an existing requisition. This might be as a result of the current requisition owner leaving the business or changing roles. It might also be a temporary change, where the current requisition owner is going on leave and needs to delegate requisition tasks to another person in their absence.

Another common scenario is where you would like to have a senior leader or someone from another department manage a particular requisition, without changing the standard requisition workflow. Other times you may want to change the requisition workflow, updating the default owner assigned to future requisitions where business changes have occurred, such as changes to departments or reporting hierarchies.

Editing a requisition via the actions menu in the main requisitions screen

  1. Go to Recruitment > Requisitions to get to the main requisitions screen

  2. Click on the Actions menu next to the requisition you wish to update

  3. Select Edit Requisition

Transfer Ownership of the Requisition in Bulk

  1. Go to Recruitment > Requisitions to get to the main requisitions screen

  2. Tick the Requisitions you want to select in bulk

  3. Click Bulk Actions > Transfer Owner

  4. A pop-up will appear, choose the User you want to transfer the ownership to.

Editing a requisition via the overview tab within an individual requisition

  1. Go to Recruitment > Requisitions to get to the main requisitions screen

  2. Click on the Requisition Title of the requisition you wish to update

  3. Select the Overview Tab

  4. Click on the Edit button

Updating the owner

Once you have opened the edit requisition screen:

  1. Update the value for the Owner field

  2. Click Submit

✔️

A notification may be configured to notify the previous and new requisition owners of the change. This notification can be configured by going to: Administration > General > Notifications > Recruitment > Requisition Change of Owner

Changing the default owner assigned to future requisitions

When a requisition is first raised, it is the value selected in the Assign Owner field of the relevant requisition workflow that determines the initial owner to be assigned the requisition.

⚠️

Please note that changing the default owner in a requisition workflow will not apply to any changes to the owner of existing requisitions.

To change the owner of an existing requisition please see: Changing the owner of an existing requisition

To set or change the default owner that will be assigned any future requisitions that are raised using a given requisition workflow:

  1. Go to Administration > Recruitment > Requisition Workflows

  2. Click on the Edit button next to the requisition you wish to update

  3. Go to the Settings tab

  4. Under the Owner Assignment section update the Assign Owner field

  5. If specific user was selected also update the Select Specific User field

  6. Click Save

✔️

A number of options are available under Assign Owner:

Requester will assign the user who initially raised the requisition as the requisition owner. This option is typically used where you would like the requester to manage the requisition from beginning to end.

First Approver Select will assign the first level approver in the approval workflow as the requisition owner (see Approval Workflow tab). This option is typically used where you would like the person who first approves a requisition to manage it moving forward

Final Approver Select will assign the last level approver in the approval workflow as the requisition owner (see Approval Workflow tab). This option is typically used where you have a multi level approval process and would like the person who has the final say on approval to manage the requisition.

Specific User will allow you to choose a specific user from your user list to manage the requisition. This option is typically used where there is no approval workflow and / or where the requisition needs to be managed by a single person.

Suggested Articles

Did this answer your question?