Skip to main content

Create, Edit, and Notify Users

M
Written by Michael Ho

This feature allows administrators to create, edit and notify Users.

How do I add a user?

To add a new user:

1. Navigate to Administration → General → Users.

2. Click on the Add New User button.

Add New User button

A page appears, allowing you to input the user’s details, including:

  • Profile image: Upload a photo or image that will display as their profile picture.

  • First Name: This is the user’s first name.

  • Last Name: This is the user’s last name.

  • Preferred First Name: This is the user’s first name.

  • Preferred Last Name: This is the user’s last name.

  • Username: This is the user’s login details.

  • Email: This is the user’s email.

  • Manager: This is the user that the employee will directly report to.

  • Start Date: This is the user’s first day of employment.

  • Expiry Date: This denotes the date on which a user's access should be removed, potentially as their employment will end on this date.

  • End Date: This denotes a user's final day of employment.

  • Password / Repeat Password: Allows you to set a password for the user.

User Details Form

Once this section has been filled in, click the Save button. The user has now been created.

📝 All fields denoted with a * are required to be completed in order to be able to save the user's profile.

⚠️ Additional tabs will appear allowing you to add more information to the user’s profile

Select the Profile tab and complete the additional profile fields:

  • Effective From: The date when this detail should be applied to the user's profile.

  • Reason for change: The reason why you are adding these details.

  • Company (Legal Entity): From the dropdown, select the Company employs this user.

  • Department: From the dropdown, select the user's Department.

  • Position: From the dropdown, select the user's Position.

Once this section has been filled in, click on the Save button. The user’s profile has now been updated with these additional details.

Profile Tab Details

Select the Role tab and select the applicable role from the system:

  • Employee: A general user of the system, with no direct reports.

  • Manager: A user who either has or will have direct reports.

  • Company Admin: A user who will assist with the system administration of your ELMO system.

Once this section is made, click on the Save button. The user’s profile has now been updated with these additional details.

Role Tab Details

How do I edit a user's profile?

To edit a user, manage their level of access or reset their password:

1. Navigate to Administration → General → Users.

2. Expand the Edit menu by clicking the dropdown arrow. From the displayed list, select Edit User Profile.

Edit User Profile action

A new page appears, allowing you to modify the details on each of the following tabs:

  • Details:

    • On this tab you can update the user's Name, Last Name, Username, email address, Manager, Start Date, Expiry and/or End Date.

    • Once you have modified the details click on the Submit Change Button. The user’s profile has now been updated.

    ❗ You will be required to specify the Effective From date and Reason for change.

  • Profile:

    • On this tab, you can update the user's Company (Legal Entity), Position, Department, Location, and any additional custom fields that have been configured.

    • Once you have modified the details click on the Submit Change Button. The user’s profile has now been updated.

    ❗ You will be required to specify the Effective From date and Reason for change.

  • Role:

    • On this tab you can change the user's role to Employee, Manager or Company Admin.

    • Once you have modified the details click on the Save Button. The user’s access will now be updated.

  • Change Password:

    • On this tab, you can set a new login password for this user.

    • You have the option to notify the user.

    • You have the option to force the user to reset the password again when they first login.

    • Once you have modified the details click on the Change Password Button. The user’s password will now be updated, and should you have selected to notify the user, a notifications will be sent.

Edit User Profile Tabs

How do I Activate / Notify a user?

To notify or activate a user:

1. Navigate to Administration → General → Users.

2. Click on the Notify Users button.

Notify Users button

3. A new page appears showing all the users who have yet to be notified. Select one of the following three methods to notify your users:

  • Notify User: Sends a notification to the individual.

  • Notify Selected Users: Sends a notification to the selected individuals.

  • Notify All Users: Sends a notification to all users within the notify users section.

Notification Options

❗ Clicking on the Notify button sends a notification to that user with their login details. It also activates their user account, which allows the user to access the system.

Clicking on the Activate button activates the user's account but does not send the user a notification.

Note: The above actions cannot be undone.

Did this answer your question?