Skip to main content

Job Roles in Requisition and Recruitment Workflows

M
Written by Michael Ho

This article provides a detailed guide on how to configure Requisition and Recruitment workflows using Job Roles. Using Job Roles allows you to add and remove larger batches of positions at once, streamlining your workflow management and saving you time.

This functionality is only available for those that have Position-led enabled. Those using Employee-led do not have access to these settings and experience no changes to their existing workflows.

Adding Job Roles to Workflows


The Job Role field is optional for both types of workflows. You have the flexibility to use a combination of Job Roles and Positions, or rely on Positions only.

Expected Behavior When Configuring Job Roles

  • Selecting a Job Role immediately adds all its associated Positions into the Select Positions field.

  • Removing a Job Role immediately removes all its associated Positions from the Select Positions field.

Requisition Workflows

1. Navigate to Administration → Recruitment → Requisition workflows → Edit → Settings.

2. Ensure the Workflow Type is set to Position-based. This setting must be active for the Select Job Roles field to become available.

Requisition Workflows Settings

Recruitment Workflows

1. Navigate to Administration → Recruitment → Recruitment workflows → Edit → Settings.

2. Ensure the Default field is set to No. This setting must be active for the Select Job Roles field to become available.

Recruitment Workflows Settings

Logic Rules for Job Roles


When adding a Job Role and saving your changes, the system runs logic checks to determine if the Job Role can be added. The following rules are enforced:

  • Rule 1: Unique Linking. A Job Role can only be linked to one Requisition workflow and one Recruitment workflow at a time. Once a Job Role is added to a workflow, it is not available to select on another workflow of the same type.

  • Rule 2: Consistent Associations. All positions associated with a Job Role must be linked to the same workflow as the Job Role.

If Rule 2 is broken, you receive an error message upon saving.

Example scenario: If an existing position is linked to Workflow A, and you add the Job Role associated with this position to Workflow B, saving Workflow B triggers an error. To resolve this, you must either remove the position from Workflow A, or remove the position’s association with the Job Role via Admin.

Frequently Asked Questions


Do the workflow settings automatically update if I add or remove a Position from a Job Role via the Admin Library? +

No, workflow settings must be manually updated to reflect any changes made to Job Role and Position relationships in Admin.

What happens if a user removes a Position (or a Job Role with associated positions) from a workflow while it is in use on an active Requisition? +

  • Requisition workflows: The requisition continues to use the original Position selected at the time it was created, regardless of whether that position is still associated with the requisition workflow.

  • Recruitment workflows: Existing applications in the requisition retain the Recruitment Workflow originally assigned to them. New applications continue to receive the same Recruitment Workflow up until the requisition’s Position is added to another Recruitment Workflow. After that, new applications receive the new Recruitment Workflow.

What happens if a user disables a Job Role while it’s associated with a Requisition or Recruitment workflow? +

If a Job Role is associated with at least one Position, it cannot be disabled within the Admin Library. In the Recruitment module, all workflow logic is based around the selections made in the Positions field, rather than the Job Role field. Therefore, if a Job Role is linked to a workflow but does not have any associated Positions and is disabled, it has no impact on the workflow.

Did this answer your question?